Team TBR Challenge Review: The A Court of Thorns and Roses Trilogy (A Court of Thorn and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin) by Sarah J. Maas

The A Court of Thorn and Roses Trilogy (A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin) by Sarah J. Maas
Fantasy romance released by Bloomsbury USA Childrens on May 5, 2015, May 3, 2016, and May 2, 2017, respectively.

A Court of Thorns and Roses Feyre is a huntress. She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price …Follow Feyre’s journey into the dangerous, alluring world of the Fae, where she will lose her heart, face her demons and learn what she is truly capable of. This stunning, three-book box set of the #1 New York Times bestselling series by Sarah J. Maas includes A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury and A Court of Wings and Ruin. Contains mature content. Not suitable for younger readers.
This month’s TBR Challenge is “series catch up.” Which, technically I’m catching up with the series since the first book was released in 2015 … but honestly I read the entire trilogy for the first time last week. And I loved it. I’ve been on a massive fantasy romance kick for the past month, which is a deviation from my usual reading. This is my escape from reality, and I’m enjoying it a lot. I’ve always loved the fantasy genre, and it was a big part of what I read as a kid. (Maybe this was because I re-read On Fortune’s Wheel/The Tale of Birle while recovering. Which I’m still doing. Anyway.) Y’all. The A Court of Thorn and Roses (ACOTAR) trilogy is fantastic. You all need to read it. Full disclosure – I’m not trying to, and in fact am trying not to write spoilers, but some of them might slip out. (Scroll to the bottom for the individual book covers and blurbs.)

I saw that it might become a movie (or movies), and am thrilled. Literally as I was reading it I kept thinking “these books would make such kickass movies. Lord of the Rings was great – and this could be like that. So many awesome special effects and CGI that could be used.
I’m not going to talk about the book so much because … basically any little thing can be a spoiler, potentially, because so very much happens throughout them and it’s quite a journey. All the characters have their place though, and their reasons for being as they are. There are so many twists and turns and it keeps you on your toes. (I do want to say one thing though – the riddle that Feyre gets under the mountain. I knew the answer as soon as it was given to her. *fistpump*)
While I was reading the books, I can’t remember if it was A Court of Thorns and Roses or A Court of Mist and Fury, it reminded me of L.J. Smith’s books, for some reason. Especially her Dark Visions trilogy. (And I was right.) The heroine is fantastic, and all of you might be thinking “but Lime, you don’t read YA. You bitch about it all the time, how you don’t want to read about kids and it’s creepy.” And look, seeing that ACOTAR is marketed as YA. Well, a few people recommended the series to me and promised it doesn’t read as YA, and I’d have to agree. In fact, although the books start out with the heroine as a 19 year old, she’s been the sole provider for her family since she was 13. She’s no kid. Then also, she’s so dynamic, has such a sense of self and agency, that the tone isn’t YA. Hell she might be more adult than I am. The other characters are (literally) centuries old, so there’s that. (They also act like the adults they are. In fact, I wish many more romances were more like ACOTAR in tone and feel.)
Basically, the “only” issue I have with this series is that it’s published by a Children’s division in publishing/marketed as YA – or labeled as thus. That’s just not right to me.
I started reading these books Thursday AM (like 1 AM) and finished Saturday afternoon. I glommed this series and I glommed it hard. I can definitely see myself re-reading the books, and might do it soon. It runs the gamut for your emotions. I laughed, I teared up, I screamed and squee-d. I can’t wait to see which characters get the next books and novellas.
The books do get a bit dark, but there’s the perfect balance with humor and romance. Literally while I was tearing up at a speech Rhys was making in A Court of Wings and Ruin I laughed because of something Maas wrote in – I’m sure intentionally to lighten the mood. This series is excellent, and I highly recommend it to everyone. I also want to thank the people who recommended it to me, and dealt with my bitchy self, convincing me that it is in fact not YA, and worth the read.
Grade: A
A Court of Thorns and Roses

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin–one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin–and his world–forever.

You can buy a copy here.

A Court of Mist and FuryFeyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court–but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms–and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future–and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

You can buy a copy here.

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

You can buy a copy here.

4 thoughts on “Team TBR Challenge Review: The A Court of Thorns and Roses Trilogy (A Court of Thorn and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, and A Court of Wings and Ruin) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Shelly Bagchi

    I love this series! Though, I have to admit, at the recommendation of a friend I literally skipped over the first 125 pages of book 1. It made absolutely no difference >_>

    Reply
    1. Limecello

      Shelly – bless your friend. I wish I had her/one like her. 😛 Totally different series but the book I’m reading now, I wish I’d been told to skip the first ~20%. <.< And it also wouldn't have made a difference. Heh ACOTAR is much better and I loved it. Even the slow first 125 pages. XD Poor wolf.

      Reply
  2. Lynn Balabanos

    I have the first book of this series in my TBR pile! I know it got some great reviews but, with a personal recommendation from you, Lime, I’m going to bump it up towards the top. Thanks for the review!

    Reply
    1. Limecello

      Whee! *fistpump!* Thanks Lynn 😀 Hopefully my rec doesn’t let you down. :X I’d looove to hear what you think of the series. I L O V E D and want more NOW and the movies! … I know some people don’t like it – not for the writing itself because of one twist, but I was a-ok with it. 🙂 [>.> I also didn’t feel like it was that big a thing. <.<]

      Reply

Join the conversation!